Board Members

Dr. Zhuo

Dr. Zhuo is a Professor of Physiology, University of Toronto.  He is the Michael Smith Chair in Neuroscience and Mental Health, and the Canada Research Chair Tier I in Pain and Cognition.  He earned his B.A. degree in Biophysics from University of Science and Technology in China and Ph.D. degree in Pharmacology from University of Iowa under the guidance of Prof. Gerald Gebhart.  He received his postdoctoral trainings at Columbia University with Prof. Eric R Kandel and Stanford University with Prof. Richard W. Tsien.  He held a faculty position of full professor at Washington University in St. Louis and helped to establish their Centre for Pain Research, and acted as chief for basic research before moving to the University of Toronto.  In 2009 Dr. Zhuo was elected to the Royal Society of Canada. Dr. Zhuo’s research interests are cellular and molecular mechanisms of synaptic plasticity, cortical and spinal neuronal circuits, and implications of these plastic changes in physiological and pathological conditions.  They include chronic pain, fear, anxiety, fragile X disease, and mood disorders.  He has published more than 200 articles in professional journals such as Nature, Science, Nature Neuroscience, Neuron, Science Translational Medicine, Science Signaling, PNAS, Trends in Neuroscience, J Cell Biology, J Neurobiology, J Neuroscience, J Physiology, J Neurophysiology, J Neurochemistry, JBC, European J Neuroscience, Molecular Brain, Molecular Pain, Pain, Learning and Memory, Current Genomics,  Current Pharmacological Design,  Neuropharmacology, European J of Pharmacology, Journal of Pain, European J of Pain, and more than 20 review articles.  His H-factor is 54.  He is the founding editor and editor-in-chief for the online journal of Molecular Pain (IF=3.77), and the founding and executive editor for Molecular Brain ( IF=4.20).  As of 2013, he has served as the Deputy Chief Editor for J Neurochemistry.  He is the Editor of the first text book of Molecular Pain and was Chang Jiang (Li Ka Shing) Scholar in Fudan University, Shanghai (2005-2008) and the WCU_Seoul National University visiting Professor (2009-2013) in Korea.